//
you're reading...
Canada, Cycle Touring, Cycling Across Canada

Cycling Across Canada: Line dancing and wildlife in Calgary

As the towering mountains gave way to prairie flatlands, the big city congestion greeted me as I cycled into Calgary and struggled to find the Hosteling International hostel on the east side of downtown.

A vibrant city with loads to do, I quickly settled into the hostel life and joined the party and bbq.  Before you knew it, a group of us were off to Cowboys nightclub – touted the best bar in town!  Advertising for Cowboys – “Cowboys has been the biggest and best venue for boot-scooting fun every night in Calgary Proven by those who pack the club each week.  Whether it’s the wannabe cowboys and cowgirls or the horse-riding, hay-pitching variety, they all find what they’re looking for at Cowboys.”  Not wrong – the place was packed.  I didn’t stand a chance in the crowd of partygoers and cowboy hats!

We headed off the next day to check out the Calgary Zoo – perfect way to unwind from the craziness of Cowboys.  Turns out – the only live moose I would see on the entire trip across Canada were here at the zoo!  On the other hand – the bears at the zoo were not the only live ones I came across on my bike, but that’s another story!

Not to be outdone by the zoo, Calgary has plenty more on offer.  As I rode into town, I passed the Canada Olympic Park – home of the 1988 Winter Olympic Games. The sheer size of the ski jumps was enough to get my heart racing!  70 and 90 feet into the air – the ski jumps dominated the horizon.

The site is still used as a training site for Canadian athletes, but for the adrenaline junkie, check out the summer bobsleigh run – 60 seconds of sheer exhilaration at 100km/hr and 4Gs.

About Anita Mac

The bucket list just keeps growing! The more I cross off - the more exciting new destinations and activities I find! I have been fortunate enough to travel a considerable distance over the years. My love of many things, including travel, cycling, kayaking and photography fit together like hand and glove. I have to keep asking myself....where to next? I am happy to share my travels and photography through my blogs: http://traveldestinationbucketlist.com and http://anitamacphotos.wordpress.com Hope you enjoy them as much as I do! On to the next adventure!

Discussion

22 thoughts on “Cycling Across Canada: Line dancing and wildlife in Calgary

  1. Just looking at the track gives me the willys!

    Posted by readytochangenow | March 13, 2012, 9:07 am
  2. Great photos! 😀

    Posted by wolke205 | March 13, 2012, 9:22 am
  3. Reblogged this on All About Travel.

    Posted by Anje Vela | March 13, 2012, 12:01 pm
  4. I would love to ride in a bobsleigh. Great post!

    Posted by theplaceswevebeen | March 13, 2012, 12:41 pm
  5. Thanks for sharing – Happy Tuesday!

    Posted by cravesadventure | March 13, 2012, 12:47 pm
  6. I didn’t get a chance to try the bobsleigh during my last visit, Definitely am going there next time though! oooh yeah!

    Posted by andy1076 | March 13, 2012, 1:55 pm
  7. Great post! I’ve seen the ski jumps but not the bobsled run. I’m afraid it looks just a little too exhilarating for this sissy. 🙂

    Posted by Laura Leigh Goyer | March 14, 2012, 6:56 pm
  8. You’d jump out of a flying plane but won’t stay closer to terra firma? lol 😀

    Posted by andy1076 | March 14, 2012, 9:13 pm
  9. The jumps are pretty intimidating! I know I wouldn’t want to be flying down those at whatever high speeds they hit, no way! Cool site, though.

    Posted by Julia | March 15, 2012, 3:52 pm
  10. The black bears, what are they doing?

    Posted by sojourner | March 18, 2012, 7:49 pm
  11. Oh, the baby moose! We have an Olympic ski jump training spot here in Park City, too. Love your photos.

    Posted by the usual bliss | April 25, 2012, 3:15 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Cycling Across Canada: Back on Track | traveldestinationbucketlist - April 25, 2012

  2. Pingback: Cycling Across Canada | traveldestinationbucketlist - May 6, 2012

  3. Pingback: Cycling Across Canada | traveldestinationbucketlist - May 6, 2012

  4. Pingback: Wordpress (unofficial) photo challenge: Reflections « Shutter bug - May 14, 2012

Leave a Reply

Join me at TBEX

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts and adventures by email.

wordpress counter
