//
you're reading...
Prague, Wine

Not your standard Cave: Prague

While wandering around the streets of Prague, feet weary from all the touristing, we happened to stumble across the most magnificent find….for the more adventurous thrill seekers – this is not your cave! This is for the wine buff – a fine purveyor of quality drinks indeed!

For the wine and cognac lovers – a delightful find worthy of your time!  Introducing U Stare Studny.

We couldn’t believe our luck when we stumbled upon this magnificent wine bar.  Having finished dinner elsewhere in town, we were looking for a little something to finish out the night.  We were absolutely delighted with what we found.  We meandered down to the cave and ordered a flight of cognac (for him) and a flight of Pineau (for me).  Our server explained our flights, his english was ok – not great, but that didn’t matter.  The atmosphere and the flavours of our drinks were more important.  After finishing our respective flights, we actually each selected a glass and relaxed and looked through the wine cellar of bottles available for sale.  Great selection – wish we were in town longer so that we could have actually taken a bottle back to the hotel.  Another time!  It was great to get away from all the tourists for the evening and sit in such a relaxed atmosphere.

Tasting notes for the Pineau

Once inside, U Stare Studny, feels like a million miles away from the hustle and bustle of Prague’s tourist frenzy, yet is only a few blocks from the Charles Bridge, south of the Mala Strana tram station.  Go down into the cellar -U Stare Studny is not your standard cave!

If you enjoyed this post, you may also enjoy

About Anita Mac

The bucket list just keeps growing! The more I cross off - the more exciting new destinations and activities I find! I have been fortunate enough to travel a considerable distance over the years. My love of many things, including travel, cycling, kayaking and photography fit together like hand and glove. I have to keep asking myself....where to next? I am happy to share my travels and photography through my blogs: http://traveldestinationbucketlist.com and http://anitamacphotos.wordpress.com Hope you enjoy them as much as I do! On to the next adventure!

Discussion

15 thoughts on “Not your standard Cave: Prague

  1. What a great hidden treasure!

    Posted by cravesadventure | January 13, 2012, 11:59 am
  2. Sounds like you are enjoying your trip to Prague and I am enjoying living vicariously through your post 🙂

    Posted by f-stop mama | January 13, 2012, 7:27 pm
  3. Very cool Anita!

    Posted by Steve | January 14, 2012, 1:18 am
  4. Sounds like quite the find! kudos

    Posted by TheWorldOrBust | January 14, 2012, 9:19 am
  5. Very nice, hopefully I can check this out when I go to the Czech Republic for the ICS in 2013. It’s in Brno but a stop over in Prague might be in order 🙂

    Posted by thecaptainnemo | January 16, 2012, 12:19 pm
  6. Sounds wonderful! Wish I’d known about this place last Summer. Hopefully, I’ll find myself again in Prague and can check this out for myself

    Posted by shallowpocketslucy | January 17, 2012, 8:23 am
  7. I had a wonderufl weekend in Prague many years ago and hope to go back one day. I’ll have to hunt this down if I do. Kat 🙂

    Posted by Kathryn | January 21, 2012, 4:01 pm
  8. Prague sounds awesome! I really wish I drank so I could appreciate this more…

    Posted by The Hook | January 25, 2012, 1:50 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: The Golden Wheel, Prague: Hotel Review « traveldestinationbucketlist - June 5, 2012

  2. Pingback: Prague’s Astronomical Clock « traveldestinationbucketlist - June 6, 2012

  3. Pingback: TDBL Roundup – March 2013 | Travel Destination Bucket List - March 31, 2013

Leave a Reply

Join me at TBEX

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts and adventures by email.

wordpress counter
