//
you're reading...
Caribbean, Meandering thoughts

Last minute vacation

Tomorrow is the beginning of my last minute vacation to Jamaica!  Booked only a few weeks in advance – it is my favourite way for total R&R in the sun!  Last year I escaped on a last minute vacation for only 5 days – definitely not enough time – thrilled to be going for a full week this year.  One week in Paradise – Grand Palladium here I come!

Originally, I debated between an all inclusive and a plan it yourself adventure.  My feet were getting restless and a Costa Rica adventure beckoned.  In the end, an all inclusive vacation with book it there adventures won out!  (See post here)  Life at this time of the year is always to hectic and crazy at work to plan a brilliant adventure and R&R is just what the doctor ordered!

The popularity of the last minute vacation seems to be growing.  Do you you “last minute” book it?  How late do you wait?  Who do you use?  For the Caribbean, I use Sell Off Vacations – I have used them a number of times – I find they have a good selection and their website is easy to use.  For other trips, I find Expedia to be good (Christmas in Prague – can’t wait!

Some people wait until the week before to book, suggesting that only adds to the excitement factor for them!  Me – I couldn’t wait that long – more out of excitement for the trip than anything else!  Given the limited availability for packages outside of the Dominican, I am glad that I booked this trip with a few weeks to spare!  (Chose not to go to the Dominican, even though many of my friends have been and loved it – just have it in my head that it isn’t my preferred destination!  Will have to go some time to check it out – but for now, not on the top of my priority list!)

Cocktails at Sunset Cove, Grand Palladium Jamaica

As a planned, put your feet up kind of holiday, I have also decided to book my adventures while at the resort.  While sometimes the tour sellers can be very pushy – I look forward to pampering myself with adventures on the days I feel like it, and not on the days that I don’t!  With a 4:30 am start time at the airport, I imagine a day or two of sleeping under a palm tree, paddling in the water, and an icy cocktail at my side will be in my future.  After that – watch out…I hear Jamaica has dryland dog sledding adventures available!  (Dog sledding is on my bucket list, but I imagine dryland will only be a prelude to the winter version that I have dreamed of doing!!!)

For now – time to pack – I am off for my last minute vacation in Jamaica!

About Anita Mac

The bucket list just keeps growing! The more I cross off - the more exciting new destinations and activities I find! I have been fortunate enough to travel a considerable distance over the years. My love of many things, including travel, cycling, kayaking and photography fit together like hand and glove. I have to keep asking myself....where to next? I am happy to share my travels and photography through my blogs: http://traveldestinationbucketlist.com and http://anitamacphotos.wordpress.com Hope you enjoy them as much as I do! On to the next adventure!

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Last minute vacation

  1. A great plan, and a great time to get away! Have a wonderful vacation!! Cheers!

    Posted by Steve | November 11, 2011, 5:27 pm
  2. Enjoy and Safe Travels:)

    Posted by cravesadventure | November 11, 2011, 6:23 pm
  3. Have a great time and enjoy your trip!

    Posted by f-stop mama | November 13, 2011, 9:18 pm
  4. Travelling late is a great bargain!
    Funny toes and delicious cocktail! 😀 ha ha ha

    Posted by Spider Trips | December 6, 2011, 4:07 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: What a day! | traveldestinationbucketlist - November 20, 2011

  2. Pingback: Dunn’s River Falls | traveldestinationbucketlist - November 20, 2011

Leave a Reply

Join me at TBEX

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts and adventures by email.

wordpress counter
